FASHION, MODELS TALK

SELFIE ALA MODEL

Throughout the history, fashion photographers are known to plaster photos of fashion models in magazines and billboards. With the widespread of Smartphones, it is no stranger that models have played both roles of the person in front and behind the lens. As Oxford Dictionaries (http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/) would define it; the word “selfie” means A photograph that one has taken of oneself, typically one taken with a smartphone or webcam and uploaded to a social media website.  The phenomenon has taken over even the catwalk stars to capture their blessed face in filtered image or natural light.

Image via Ruby Jean Wilson’s Instagram – @rubyjean_wilson

A quick search of the hashtag #selfie on Instagram would yield 105 million plus (and still growing) results of selfies which includes those from models and models-by-heart. Through my weekend effort, I have searched the pixelated world of Instagram to find the best selfies of our beloved model citizens. Let’s indulge ourselves for my top 20 picks of model selfies in no particular order.

Left: Bette Franke / @bette_franke; Right: Cora Emmanuel / @coraemmanuel

 

Left: Elsa Holsk / @holskelsa; Right: Emanuela De Paula / @emanueladepaula

 

Left: Fei Fei Sun / @feifeisunsun; Right: Frida Aasen / @frida_aasen

 

Left: Josephine Le Tutour / @ josephinelt; Right: Frida Gustavsson /@fridabgustavsson

 

Left: Juju Ivanyuk / @jujichka; Right: Kelsey Van Mook / @kelseyvanmook

 

Left: Liu Wen / @liuwenlw; Right: Manon Leloup / @manonleloup

 

Left: Gwen Loos / @gwenloos; Right: Zuzanna Bijoch / @bijochzuzanna

 

Left: Nastya Kusakina / @ nastyakusakina; Right: Marte Mei van Haaster / @martemei

 

Left: Ruby Jean Wilson / @rubyjean_wilson; Right: Nyasha Matonhodze / @nyashams

 

Left: Xiao Wen Ju / @ jujujuxiaowen; Right: Sara Sampaio / @sarasampaio

Bless the models!

Ben.

Advertisements

1 thought on “SELFIE ALA MODEL”

  1. Have to say I prefer the Model Selfie’s where they are making funny faces or doing something quirky, coz then we get to see their character. So I like Josephine and Zuzanna’s seflies. I mean its no surprise when a model takes an amazing serious selfie and looks beautiful, coz guess what, she’s a model!!! But when mere mortals take selfie’s and look like models, aha, now that’s a different story!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s